Airsoft Ohio Forums  
  #1  
Old 07-24-2011, 09:24 AM
runner3's Avatar
runner3 runner3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dayton (home) Findlay (School)
Posts: 619
runner3 is a Private
iTrader: (10)
New barrel in my AK

Hey guys, I have the CYMA AK74u or the CM035A, and it works great, nothing wrong with it, but I am going to be putting a longer barrel into it to make it a little more accurate. I have worked on M4 style guns before and know how to take those apart but this is my first AK project and am not sure where to start. I could always take the parts to an airsmith and pay them to do it, but I enjoy doing the hands on work myself (and saving the money). I haven't been able to find any useful youtube videos so I was hoping I could get some feedback as to where I should start on this, or if someone finds a good video for me it would be great if you could post it.

Thanks in advance,

runner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2011, 09:43 AM
Nile Nile is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Nile is a Private
iTrader: (0)
http://www.mechbox.com/ak47/ak47-disassembly.html

Not sure how close your AK47 is compared to a Marui but I hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2011, 10:40 AM
maglips's Avatar
maglips maglips is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 809
maglips is a Private
iTrader: (25)
A longer barrel won't help accuracy much, if at all. What you need is a tighter barrel. An AK replica already has a barrel length of 455mm, which is quite long. I would recommend a tightbore barrel (6.03or 6.01) of the same length.
__________________
http://www.321airsoft.com/

Stay in school and you'll do great! And don't forget your vegetables either! - Scorpion
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2011, 11:58 AM
astonerock's Avatar
astonerock astonerock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new carlisle, oh
Posts: 391
Blog Entries: 1
astonerock is a Private
iTrader: (0)
hey runner its stonecock from i70. a tightbore would do your ak just fine. the difference between a 6.03 and 6.01 are minimal. a 6.03 is 20 bucks cheaper and works just as well as a 6.01.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2011, 12:42 PM
runner3's Avatar
runner3 runner3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dayton (home) Findlay (School)
Posts: 619
runner3 is a Private
iTrader: (10)
Alright good to go, thanks guy. I went ahead and ordered a 363 6.03 barrel, hopefully I can get it in before Viper, if not BF for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:20 PM
maglips's Avatar
maglips maglips is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 809
maglips is a Private
iTrader: (25)
Yeah, I didn't notice it was an SU. The 363 will be a little longer than the stock barrel, but will still work well with your cylinder set. You may need a barrel extension to cover the rest of the barrel, or you can simply cut it.
__________________
http://www.321airsoft.com/

Stay in school and you'll do great! And don't forget your vegetables either! - Scorpion
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:21 PM
INGINE's Avatar
INGINE INGINE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 45013, 45251
Posts: 319
INGINE is a Private
iTrader: (1)
363 is too short for an Ak, 363 is m4 length.
__________________





"When walking in open territory, bother no one. If someone bothers you, ask him to stop. If he does not stop, destroy him." -Anton LaVey
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:25 PM
maglips's Avatar
maglips maglips is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 809
maglips is a Private
iTrader: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by INGINE View Post
363 is too short for an Ak, 363 is m4 length.
I did the same thing, his SU should have a 220mm (I think that's what my ICS ak74su has).
__________________
http://www.321airsoft.com/

Stay in school and you'll do great! And don't forget your vegetables either! - Scorpion
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2011, 01:28 PM
INGINE's Avatar
INGINE INGINE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 45013, 45251
Posts: 319
INGINE is a Private
iTrader: (1)
Oh, sorry. I didn't see that it was a SU.
__________________





"When walking in open territory, bother no one. If someone bothers you, ask him to stop. If he does not stop, destroy him." -Anton LaVey
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2011, 03:23 PM
runner3's Avatar
runner3 runner3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dayton (home) Findlay (School)
Posts: 619
runner3 is a Private
iTrader: (10)
Yeah its a 74 not a 47 and I have already started working on the barrel extension to cover the inner barrel that sticks out. Thanks for all the feedback guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ak upgrade, barrel, cyma

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Guide CStahl Electric Guns (AEG) 7 10-11-2011 08:04 PM
m14 barrel in an ak... dankal Electric Guns (AEG) 1 02-19-2011 10:43 AM
WTS/WTT: Real Sword AK and Threaded glock barrel ntrirish7 Electric-Powered Weaponry 1 10-23-2010 07:08 PM
Beta Project AK PTS PMAG Raptor Electric Guns (AEG) 8 01-25-2010 04:25 PM
Help! Tightbore Barrel On TM AK BS shooter762 Electric Guns (AEG) 4 12-13-2004 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Airsoft Guns, Tactical Gear, Military Gear, Ohio Airsoft Retailer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2005 - 2009 Airsoft Ohio