Airsoft Ohio Forums  

Go Back   Home > Airsoft Ohio Forums > Blogs > India

Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.

Next Step: Search & Resscue

Posted 02-10-2014 at 09:41 AM by India
Following is my movement through airsoft. I'm posting this for others who may be in the same place I was in.

I started playing airsoft in 2006. After a few years, tens of thousands of rounds fired, and hundreds of virtually identical firefights, I started getting bored. I started experimenting with leadership at higher and higher levels. It eventually got to the point where I only played at the CO/XO, and had so little interest in trigger time that I didn't even want to carry a weapon. When I made the switch from tactical to strategic leadership, the hobby took on a whole new life. The skill set -- organization, management, communication, documentation, etc. -- was much more realistic and applicable to real life than the tactical skill set. However, after a handful of major events as senior leadership, that too became bland, for two reasons:
1. Due to the nature of the airsoft, there is an intrinsic lack of leadership and training, with myself especially, but also with other leaders, and with players in general. There are, of course, exceptions to that statement.
2. There was no point. We go to all of this effort for what purpose? Initially, the adrenalin rush was enough, but that got old quickly.
Because of these reasons, there just didn't seem to be a point in the game.

These things made me decide to begin looking at ways to utilize my budding, yet still inadequate, skill set in something a little more useful. I discovered the search & rescue community, and eventually the team to which I now belong. I'm now in a situation where many of the skills that I began developing in airsoft are being refined and brought to a whole new level, and there's an actual purpose to what I'm doing.